The Parents’ Council AGM took place last month, when the principal presented the Board’s Report for 2011-2012. A presentation was also given by Christopher Lyons (McAfee Ireland) on online safety for students. The following officers were appointed for the 2012-2013 school year - Joanna Lynch (chairperson), Regina Power (secretary) and John Hoctor (treasurer).

Carmel Fitzsimons and Dolores Powell took the TY class and the 5th Year Agricultural Science class to the Ploughing Championships in New Ross.

The 1st Year retreat took place in the Bridge Centre and the retreat was given by the peer ministry team from the High School under the guidance of Annette Hickey and Sheila Ryan.

Dolores Powell and Ruth Mockler took the TY class to the Achill adventure centre from 1st to 3rd October and the feedback was excellent.

The TY class organised a European Food Day in the school on Friday, 28th September – it was a tremendous success with very high quality food presented. Rehearsals for the annual school show with the Presentation are currently underway – this year’s show, Blue Suede Shoes will take place from 24th to 27th October in the White Memorial Theatre and tickets will be available shortly from both schools.

High School Awards Day will take place on Friday, 26th October at 2pm in the school atrium. This is a very important event and all parents/guardians are invited to attend. Boston Scientific are sponsoring the awards scheme.

Pierce Purcell, Tom Quinn and Ian Purcell are running the Dublin City Marathon on Monday, 29th October on behalf of the High School and sponsorship cards will be distributed to all students in the hope that they will help with this fundraising event.

The Student Leadership Team has appointed the following officers for the coming year - Dominic Walsh (chairperson); Dean Ryan (secretary); Michael Murphy (treasurer) and Conor Prendergast (PRO).

Cian Crowe has been invited to take part in the process to select 6 students to represent Ireland at the International Junior Science Olympiad in Tehran (from 1st to 10th December) and the European Union Science Olympiad in Luxembourg (from 17th to 24th March).

Oonagh Hogan from AWARE spoke to all senior cycle students recently.

Three students from the High School were on the Tipperary Minor hurling panel that won the All-Ireland Final replay against Dublin in Croke Park. They were Bill Maher (captain), Darren Cass and Tom Kirwan. Players will bring the Irish Press Cup to the High School on Friday, 12th October.

5th and 6th year art classes travelled to Dublin with their teachers on Tuesday.

The following students will represent the High School at Comhairle na n-Óg on 24th October - Cian Drohan; Gino Forte; Daniel O’Callaghan and Dean Ryan.

Padraig Keating, Joel O’Dwyer, Stephen Carey and Dylan Cadogan were selected for the Munster A School’s Rugby team that played against Connacht and Leinster for the Joe Weaver Cup.

The Under 16 ½ hurling team drew 1-10 each with De La Salle Waterford in the Dean Ryan Cup. The replay took place on Tuesday.

The Under 15 Gaelic football team played Coláiste Choilm (Cork) on Friday last in the Munster championship.

Senior hurling team played the school’s first-ever match in the Harty Cup against St Colman’s Fermoy (in Mitchelstown) on Wednesday last. A very competitive and tight match ended in a draw on a scoreline of 0-13 each.

The 1st year County B hurling blitz took place last week in Clonoulty and the School team are through to the finals later in October.

The High School Open Evening for incoming 1st year students will take place on Wednesday, 14th November at 7pm.


Back to the top of the page