Pope Francis among nominees for the Tipperary Peace Award

Pope Francis, nominated for the Tipperary Peace Award

Pope Francis, nominated for the Tipperary Peace Award

A short list of nominees for the 2013 Tipperary International Peace Award has been announced by Tipperary Peace Convention.

There are five nominees in the short list, including Pope Francis and the US diplomat trying to broker a new agreement in the North, Richard Haass.

The citation for Pope Francis says that throughout his life, both as an individual and as a religious leader, he has been noted for his humility, his concern for the poor, and his commitment to dialogue as a way to build bridges between people of all backgrounds, beliefs, and faiths.

He is the first Jesuit Pope, the first Pope from the Americas, the first Pope from the Southern Hemisphere, and the first non-European Pope since Pope Gregory III, 1272 years earlier.

Richard Haass, president of the Council on Foreign Relations since July 2003, succeeded George J. Mitchell as the United States Special Envoy for Northern Ireland to help the peace process.

He chaired the inter-party talks aimed at addressing some of the unresolved issues from the peace process such as parades, flags and “the past”

The other nominees are the International Peace Bureau, a global network dedicated to the vision of a world without war;

Sister Mary Tarcisa Lokot, widely known for her work to rebuild peace in war-ridden Northern Uganda and for her willingness to reach out to those who once were responsible for mass killings;

and Dr. Lee Kyu Hyung, widely regarded in his capacity as professor at the Keimyung University and through his long established work as advocate for Peace through Martial arts. Hailing from the divided Korean Peninsula he has experienced the horrors of war and its long lasting effects. With his colleagues he helped to found the Taekwondo Peace Corps which travels the world to promote peace through Taekwondo.

The award recipient for 2013 will be announced in the coming days and the award will be presented in Tipperary on a date to be confirmed in 2014.




Back to the top of the page