Tipperary Historic Town Trail is launched
On Monday, May, 17, 2010, Tipperary Town Council officially launched the Tipperary Historic Town Trail at the trailhead outside the Excel Centre.
This Historic Town Trail was funded by Failte Ireland and Tipperary Town Council and includes many points of interest that celebrate the rich heritage of the town. The route was designed by the Town Engineer in conjunction with Dr. Denis Marnane who also provided all the historical information.
A walk through over 800 years of history, the Tipperary Historic Town Trail booklets can be picked up in the Excel centre and other outlets in the town.
New Tipperary: Consisting of 57 houses and a shopping arcade, building began in the autumn of 1889, with labour provided on a rota basis by people from neighbouring parishes. Large numbers of extra police were drafted in, some of who, spent their time 'shadowing' or watching very closely the local leaders, one of who was Fr. David Humphreys, a curate in Tpperary. The expense of building New Tipperary and supporting evicted tenants was largely paid for by Irish emigrants in America and Australia. The high point was April 12, 1890, when the William O'Brien Arcade was opened. This was the centre piece of New Tipperary and provided shops for some of the business people evicted from 'Old Tipperary'.
Search for a job
Weather for Clonmel
Saturday 25 May 2013
Temperature: 8 C to 16 C
Wind Speed: 13 mph
Wind direction: South
Temperature: 9 C to 14 C
Wind Speed: 17 mph
Wind direction: South west