Tipperary Journal wins ‘Book of the Year’ Award

Ms Pat Looby, chairperson Fethard Historical Society, presenting the Tipperariana Book of the Year Award for 2012 to Fr. Christy O�

Ms Pat Looby, chairperson Fethard Historical Society, presenting the Tipperariana Book of the Year Award for 2012 to Fr. Christy O�"Dwyer, president of the County Tipperary Historical Society, whose 25th anniversary publication of the The Tipperary Historical Journal received the award on Saturday, January 26, in the Abymill Theatre, Fethard. This year's annual Tipperariana Book Fair takes place in Fethard Ballroom on Sunday, February 10, from 2pm to 6pm.

Fethard Historical Society have awarded the 2012 ‘Tipperariana Book of the Year’ award to The Tipperary Historical Journal, this being the 25th anniversary edition.

This is the eleventh annual award, the first going to ‘Moyne-Templetuohy, A life of its Own’, edited by William J Hayes, back in 2002. Winners from other years have included Carrick poet Michael Coady, Cahir historian Dr David Butler, retired Pouldine school principal Liam Ó Donnchú and Loughmore Tidy Villages Committee for their wonderful ‘A Day to Remember’.

The presentation was made to Fr. Christy O’Dwyer of Cashel, president of the County Tipperary Historical Society, by Patricia Looby, chairperson of the Fethard Historical Society, at a ceremony in the Abymill Theatre, Fethard, on Saturday last, January 26. The ‘Award’, crafted by Fethard artist Dóirín Saurus will now be preserved in the society’s headquarters in the County Library at The Source, Thurles.

In his acceptance speech Fr. O’Dwyer recalled the pioneering days of both the County Historical Society and The Journal and especially the enormous contribution of Marcus de Burca who edited the Tipperary Historical Journal for many of the early years and who he credited with setting the high standard which has been maintained over the past 25 years. Present also on the night was the present editor Dan Finnan and former editorial members Dr Proinsias O’Drisceoil, Dr Willie Nolan and Dr Denis G. Marnane.

Keynote Address by Dr Martin Mansergh

Mary Hanrahan of the Fethard Historical Society then asked Dr Martin Mansergh to speak on his paper ‘The Implications for local studies of newly available sources, the decade of centenaries, the reunification of County Tipperary and The Gathering’. Covering a broad canvas Dr Mansergh especially noted the significance of the quite recently released archive of the Bureau of Military History and the light it throws on the War of Independence. The archive, along with other material, consists of 1,773 witness statements collected between 1947-1957, which recalled the period 1913 to 1921. The critical fact in the collecting, noted by Dr Mansergh, was that none of the material was to be released until all those involved were dead. This material now throws up new information that can be at variance with ‘accepted wisdom’, all of which will keep historians and laymen alike intrigued for decades to come.

Membership of County Tipperary Historical Society

Membership of the County Tipperary Historical Society, costing €20, entitles members to a copy of the Journal every year. This is great value indeed as the 2012 edition consists of 230 pages and contains fifteen major articles on all aspects of Tipperary’s past. Contact can be made by email: society@tipperarylibraries.ie and by phone (0504) 21555 or you can also check out their website www.tipperarylibraries.ie/ths/


Back to the top of the page