Tipperary hurler wins Cashel Community School scholarship worth over €1,500

Inaugural awarding of a scholarship by the Friends of Cashel Community School GAA Support Group.




The inaugural awarding of a scholarship by the Friends of Cashel Community School GAA Support Group  was made recently to a first year hurler who displays characteristics such as leadership, being a team player, commitment to training and working hard academically.

Golden’s Ben Currivan was thrilled to win the scholarship, with all 12 applicants receiving a Tipperary hat, socks and t-shirt.

The scholarship will be an annual event and will reimburse the winner the costs of attending a full academic year at Cashel Community School as well as providing support to help the player develop on the pitch.

All first year hurlers were invited to apply for the scholarship and 12 applications were received. The application form was an essay outlining the player’s strengths, ambitions and what they see themselves offering the school in the future. Because of the high calibre of all the applicants and the considerable effort that they went to, the Support Group decided to reward all of the applicants.

Overall winner Ben captained Golden National School twice to winning county finals in 2014 and 2017 respectively. He also captained the Cashel Community School first year hurling team to win the Sciath Ui Cathain earlier this academic year.

Ben received a scholarship package worth over €1,500, including free books, gear, locker, food, uniform, transport to matches and free study for a year.

Staff and students at Cashel Community School congratulate Ben on winning this fantastic scholarship.

Pictured above are:-

Back l-r:  Principal John Gallagher, T.J. Quinn (gamesmaster), Margaret O’Carroll (club rep, Friends of Cashel Community School GAA Support Group), Cllr. Roger Kennedy (chairperson, board of management), Kevin Hally (games development officer).Front:  Jamie Hynes (first year hurling coach), Ben Currivan (scholarship winner), Donal O’Dwyer (first year hurling coach).

More Tipperary news.