Top names in Irish sport to be honoured at Canon Hayes National Sports Awards in Tipperary


Top names in Irish sport will gather at Great National Ballykisteen Hotel in Tipperary on Friday 8th December for the 2017 Canon Hayes National Sports Awards.

The awards, which are recognised as being one of the most prestigious in the country, celebrate sport on a local and national basis.

"The awards were inaugurated in 1996 and over the years have grown in importance and significance. This is attributable to the fact that they encompass all sporting disciplines and that they adequately reflect the top sporting achievements in any given year. In effect, they are a true barometer of the sporting year,” says Canon Hayes chairman Martin Quinn.

The nominees for the TASK National Award are the all conquering Dublin ladies football team who won the All-Ireland title this year after three consecutive defeats; gold and bronze medalists Gina Apke-Moses, John Fitzsimons and Michaela Walsh from the European Under 20 Championships; and European and World rowing champions Mark O'Donovan and Shane O'Driscoll.

The IPB County Award nominees include sportspeople who have also excelled at a national/international level.  Ireland's youngest ever sub four-minute miler Seán Tobin, the Tipperary ladies intermediate football team who won the All-Ireland this year, and the Conditional Riders title winning female jockey Rachael Blackmore are in contention for the award.

Competing for the Tipperary Credit Union Local Award are top try scorer for Ireland in the World Women's Sevens Rugby series Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe; Masters athlete and Irish gold medal winner Stuart Moloney; and the club that made a clean sweep of under-age camogie titles in Tipperary, Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill.

The GN Ballykisteen Hotel Outstanding Achievement Award is going to racehorse trainer Jessica Harrington, recognising her fantastic Cheltenham success with 'Sizing John' in the Gold Cup along with victory in the Irish National and the Punchestown Gold Cup.

Other awards on the night will include the Tipperary Sports Partnership Volunteer in Sport Award and the Mick Doyle Golden Memory Award, which will be presented to three time All-Ireland medal winner, Tyrone's Seán Cavanagh. There will be a Special Recognition Award on the night for the Irish Para Athletic World Championships team.

Many former sportspeople will be in attendance at the awards along with representatives of Irish Sports Council, Olympic Council of Ireland, FAI, Athletics Ireland, and Tipperary Association Dublin.