Abbey CBS hurlers defeat neighbours in exciting Westcourt Cup Final

Westcourt Cup Final

Westcourt Cup Final

(Rice Cup ‘B’ Hurling)

Abbey CBS 1-12 Doon CBS 2-7

Last Wednesday in Cashel the Abbey CBS defeated neighbours Doon CBS in a pulsating Westcourt Cup Final (Under 14 B Hurling). Fortunes swayed over the hour with the Tipperary town school just coming out on top thanks to a late scoring spurt. The Abbey played with the aid of the fresh diagonal breeze in the first half but it was Doon that settled the quicker with a Frazer Allen point. The Abbey replied through a pointed free from Shane Ryan and then in the 13th minute Niall Heffernan blasted to the roof of the net after a superb Abbey team move involving Stephen O’Brien, Conal Donovan and Matthew Moroney. David Ryan replied with a free for Doon CBS with the outstanding Conal Donovan landing his first point from play in the 23rd minute. Scores were proving hard to come by as both teams fought vigorously for every ball. Stalemate ensued for the final minutes of the first half as the Abbey failed to make the most of wind advantage with four wides in succession. The half-time score read 1-2 to 0-2 in favour of the Abbey. The second half was only 20 seconds old when Eoin McCormack rifled over a fine point. Frazer Allen pointed for Doon before the fleet footed Willie Armshaw out foxed the Abbey defence to fire home a smashing goal in the 33rd minute. Shane Ryan scored a point for the Abbey after a surging run from mid-field as both teams warmed to the task. David Ryan and frazer Allen nudged Doon ahead before the Abbey shot four points on the trot from Donovan, McCormack and a wonderful score from lively corner-forward Cormac Maher. Then in the 48th minute Robbie Quirke lashed a 21 yard free to the Abbey net and frazer Allen followed up with a quick-fire brace of points to leave Doon leading by two points with seven minutes to go. The Doon lads looked set for victory but the Abbey dug deep and inspirational points from Zach O’Halloran, Cormac Maher and two from man of the match Donovan powered the Abbey CBS to victory. It was this decisive late scoring surge that allowed the Abbey to add the Westcourt Cup to the Under 15 Munster Hurling B Title won six weeks ago. For Doon CBS Jordan Hayes, Robbie Quirke, Frazer Allen, David Ryan and William Armshaw were always prominent. Abbey had a number of heroes with Stephen O’Brien marshalling the full-back line well. The half-back line trio of Connie Bradshaw, captain Kieran Breen and Nathan Murphy-Crowe put in fine performances, especially during the second period. Shane Ryan grew into the game with his driving runs from mid-field a feature of the game. Whilst in the forwards all contributed particularly during the crucial second half with Conal Donovan, Cormac Maher and Eoin McCormack standing out.

Abbey C.B.S: Arnold O’Dwyer (Eire Óg), Connor Leahy (Arravale Rovers), Stephen O’Brien (Eire Óg), Gerard O’Dwyer (Kickhams), Conor Bradshaw (Eire Óg), Kieran Breen (Kickhams), Nathan Crowe (Arravale Rovers) , Jordan Doyle (Arravale Rovers) , Shane Ryan(0-2)(Bansha) , Matthew Moroney (Arravale Rovers), Conal Donovan (0-5)(Arravale Rovers), Eoin McCormack (0-2)(Kickhams), Cormac Maher(0-2)(Arravale Rovers), Niall Heffernan(1-0)(Golden), Zack O’Halloran(0-1)(Kickhams) subs used Darren O’Dwyer (Arravale Rovers)

Doon C.B.S: David murphy (Cappawhite), Gerard Hogan (Cappamore), Jordan Hayes (Eire Óg), Jason Fitzgibbon (Cappamore) , Dubhan O’Grady (Doon), Mickey O’Brien (Doon), Padraig Ryan (Doon), Mickey Feehan (0-1) (Sean Treacys), Robbie Quirke(1-1) (Cappawhite), Frazer Allen (0-4)(Cappawhite), P Fitzgerald, Ivor O’Dwyer (Doon), David Ryan(0-1) (Pallasgreen), B Shanahan, William Armsher(1-0) (Cappawhite)