Top stars nominated for Canon Hayes awards

The final short list of nominees for the Canon Hayes Sports Awards includes Olympic and Paralympic medalists, All-

The final short list of nominees for the Canon Hayes Sports Awards includes Olympic and Paralympic medalists, All-

Ireland and world champions, showjumpers, golfers, a soccer player, a cyclist and a father/son horseracing combination.

The scene is set therefore for what should be a glittering event at Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort on Saturday next, November 24th. Minister of State, Mr. Michael Ring, T.D., will preside at the presentation of the prestigious awards to those who have excelled in their sport during 2012. Also in attendance for the awards ceremony will be some of the leading names in Irish sport and representatives of several national bodies.

Along with celebrating the achievements of our sports persons there will be a special award to celebrate the broadcasting

career of Jimmy Magee. The “Memory Man”, will receive the Mick Doyle Golden Memory Award in recognition of over half a century in sports broadcasting. Jimmy joined RTE in 1956 and covered his first World Cup for RTÉ Radio in 1966. He has presented radio and television coverage of the Olympic Games since 1968 and is the longest-serving sports commentator.

The Irish 2012 Olympic Boxing Team are being honoured with the Outstanding Achievement Award in recognition of their success in winning one gold, one silver and two bronze medals at the London Olympics.

Along with the main category awards there is also a Volunteer in Sport Award which honours those who volunteer their time and effort to the development of sport in South Tipperary. The award is sponsored by South

Tipperary Sports Partnership and the winner will be announced

on the night of the awards


The short list of nominees is as follows:

Local Award: Mark Hoban (soccer), Aoife Lowry (golf) and Dermot Radford (cycling).

County Award: Tipperary Handballers (won 10 gold medals at the World Championships), Bill Maher (captain of the All-Ireland winning Tipperary Minor Hurling Team) and Pat Murray (winner of the South of Ireland Golf Championship).

National: Team Ireland Paralympics (won 16 medals at the London Paralympics), Aidan & Joseph O’Brien (became the first father/son combination to win the Epsom Derby with Camelot) and the Irish Senior Showjumping Team (Nations Cup victories at Hickstead and RDS Dublin and an individual bronze medal at the London Olympics).

Outstanding Achievement Award: Irish Olympic Boxing Team Mick Doyle Golden Memory Award: Jimmy Magee Volunteer in Sport Nominees: Terry Lonergan, Carrick Swans GAA Club, Geraldine Meagher, Scoil Aonghusa Special Olympics Club, Polly Murphy, Clonmel Swimming Club/County Tipperary Community Games, Carmel O’Connell, St. Mary’s Camogie Club, Jimmy O’Connell, Arravale Rovers GAA Club, Andrea O’Dea, Clonmel Junior Hockey Club and Paul Scully, Fethard & District Rugby Club.

There are a very limited number of tickets available so if you wish to reserve one please call Martin Quinn at 087-6101628. Tickets cost €50 each and dress for the awards banquet is black tie.