Tipperary through to Jim Kennedy Cup final

Ladies Football

Ladies Football

Tipperary 8-10

Mary Immaculate College 1-10

The scoreline in this Kennedy Cup semi-final may suggest that this was a very easy win for Tipperary but this was far from the case. The college team were first out of the blocks and had 3 points on the board in the first eight minutes thanks to Cork senior team player Orlaith Finn.

Tipperary were very slow to settle and missed many scores in the first quarter of the game. The backs started to get to grips with the free flowing forwards on the students team. Tipperary forwards were more settled in front of the post and scores started to flow.

Goals from Edith Carroll, Gillian O’Brien and Patricia Hickey gave a half time score of Tipperary 4-3 to 0-5.

Two early second half goals put Tipperary into a very comfortable lead and the introduction of a number of subs did not weaken their efforts. Manager Sean O’Donovan could afford the luxury of giving senior starts to Jackie O’Gorman, Orlagh Walsh, Brid Condon and Laura Dillon.

Mary Immaculate players were still battling away and were rewarded with a flurry of late scores.

Lining out on the college team were two Tipperary players Claire Carroll (Galtee Rovers) and Laura Keating (Brian Borus).

Tipperary - Jackie O’Gorman (Brian Borus), Mary O’Dwyer (Cappawhite), Samantha Lambert (Ardfinnan), Brid Condon (Aherlow), Niamh Lonergan (Moyle Rovers) Mairead Morrissey (Brian Borus), Barbara Ryan (Moyle Rovers), Aoife Ryan (Cappawhite), Jennifer Grant (Brian Borus), Orlagh Walsh (Boherlahan),

Sheelagh Carew (Cappawhite), Ashling McCarthy (Cahir), Edith Carroll (Galtee Rovers), Gillian O’Brien (Moyle Rovers) and Patricia Hickey (Brian Borus).

Subs used. Catriona Walsh (Moycarkey), Ann O’Dwyer (Cappawhite), Sinead Delahunty (Foxrock/ Cabinteely), Shauna Ryan (Ballymacarbry), Laura

Dillon (Ardfinnan), Jean-Ann Clancy (Cappawhite) and Theresa McGrath (Ballymacarbry).

Scorers Patricia Hickey 4-3, Gillian O’Brien 2-2, Edith Carroll 2-2, Ashling Mc Carthy 0-1, Sheelagh Carew 0-1 Jennifer Grant 0-1

Next game is the final of the Jim Kennedy Cup which will be played next Sunday 27 against Waterford at a time and venue to be announced.

Munster Ladies Gaelic Football Convention.

At the Munster convention held in the new Munster G.A.A Offices in Annacotty, Co Limerick, former Co Chairman Enda McDonnell (Templemore) was elected Munster President for the next three years. Also elected was Vice President, Anthony O’Brien (St. Ailbes Emly).

Tony Fox (Cahir) was elected on to the Munster fixtures committee and Denis Connolly (St Ailbes Emly) was elected on to Munster’s disciplinary committee. Liam Shinnick, National fixtures, and Mary Shinnick, National Appeals committees.

Enda becomes the first Tipperary person to be elected to this office since Jim Kennedy (Clonmel who founded Ladies Gaelic Football and was its first

President from 1974 to 1977. We wish him the best of luck in his new office.

Schools Final.

Congratulations to St. Joseph Secondary School, Doon who won the Munster Post Primary Senior D football final on Saturday last, Cappawhite supplied seven girls to this winning team. Well done to Sinead Buckley, Shauna Quirke, Lee-Ann Hayes, Elaine Kelly, Jean Kelly, Dearbhaile Hennessy and Karen Fox. Player of the game was presented to Shauna Quirke for her outstanding contribution to this great win.


Best wishes to Ashling McCarthy who has been picked on the Munster Interprovincial Post Primary schools team. Munster will play against the other

three provinces in Kinnegad next Saturday. Tipperary and Aherlow club man Derry Peters will manage this team so we have an extra reason for

wishing this team well.