Spirited Swan effort not enough for dominant county champions Drom-Inch

County SHC

County SHC

Drom-Inch 2-19

Carrick Swans 1-13

South runners-up Carrick Swan, despite a spirited effort, had no answer to the all round quality of County champions Drom-Inch who had an easy passage to the county senior hurling quarter-finals when in a fourth round tie at Cashel on Saturday they finished nine points adrift of their fancied rivals.

It was a tall order for the Swans facing the Dan Breen holders at this critical stage of the competition and aside from a brief spell midway through the first half when Swans outpointed their rivals four to one, and were denied a likely goal by a top-class save from Damian Young in the Drom goal, the champions were in control all the way. Indeed, in the latter stages, Drom Manager Teddy Kennedy could enjoy the luxury of using his bench to give a number of players valuable match time.

Drom-Inch go through to meet Clonoulty-Rossmore in the county quarter-final next week-end, a repeat of last year’s final, and it was a prospect that was never really in doubt, as Seamie Callanan and company quickly settled into their usual pattern.

A goal by James Waters for Swans in the 6th minute after Kieran Reade’s effort for a point came off the upright, gave them a 1-1 to 0-1 lead, and was a fair reward for their opening industry. It was a warning to the Mid representatives that they could not underestimate the Carrick challenge.

At the other end Swan ‘keeper, Tom Kennedy, foiled a Seamie Callanan effort for a goal in the 8th minute, but points by Callanan and Paul Collins, a late replacement for injured Seamus Butler, had Drom only one point adrift, playing into the fresh breeze into the road goal.

Swan enjoyed their best spell after this as Keith and Bill Walsh pointed, Danny O’Hanlon added another, and Kieran Reade also pointed, putting them four clear by the 17th minute. Shane Delaney had a long range point for Drom but Damian Young had to be at his best to deny Danny O’Hanlon a goal that would really have boosted Swans.

That was as good as it got for the South runners-up as Drom shot five points without reply through Johnny Ryan (2), Seamie Callanan and the very dangerous David Butler (2) to hit the front approaching the interval. Danny O’Hanlon pointed a Carrick free but David Butler and Seamie Callanan finished off the half with Drom points for an interval lead of 0-11 to 1-6, with the wind to assists them in the second half.

At that stage, Swan would have got long odds at the bookmakers, and the bookies seldom get it wrong. Drom-Inch dominated the third quarter, the highlight being Jamie Moloney’s goal in the 38th minute which shot them seven points clear. As Drom reeled off the scores, Seamie Callanan set the seal on the win in the 49th minute when he blasted a penalty to the net for a 2-16 to 1-7 lead.

Swan had lost Danny O’Hanlon to an injury in the 40th minute but he later returned to the fray and was their most influential player in the rather lukewarm closing stages hitting five points. Drom were cruising and David Butler almost had a third goal for them in the 57th minute, but Tom Kennedy in the Swan goal, was again up to the challenge. Many had exited the grounds before O’Hanlon shot the final point from a free, leaving the reigning champions the most comfortable nine points winners at the finish.

Swans gave a good account of themselves but while always competitive, they did not have the all-round quality of their opponents. Danny O’Hanlon was their key man but Stephne Hahessy, Kevin Lanigan, AaronWalsh, goalkeeper Tom Kennedy, and Martin Russell did their utmost to stem the Drom-Inch tide.

Scoorers Drom-Inch – S Callanan(1-5, 1-4fs); J Ryan(0-5), D Butler(0-5), J Moloney(1-0), P Collins(0-2), J Woodlock and S Delaney 0-1 each;

Carrick Swan – D O Hanlon 0-8, (0-6fs); J Waters(1-0), S Hahessy, K Walsh, K Reade, D Fogarty and A P Ryan(0-1) each;

Drom-Inch – Damian Young; Eddie Costello, Michael Butler, Mike Costello; Enda Walshe, Eamon Buckley, Liam Ryan; Shane Delaney, James Woodlock; Seamus Callanan, Johnny Ryan, Pat Lupton; David Butler, Paddy Kennedy, Paul Collins; Subs- Jamie Moloney for Lupton; Joe Lupton for Kennedy; Paul Stapleton for Buckley; James Ryan for Delaney; Kevin Butler for D Butler;

Carrick Swan – Tom Kennedy; Darren Murphy, Martin Russell, Gerry Walsh; Aaron Walsh, Kevin Lanigan, Sean Grace; Stephen Hahessy, Danny O Hanlon; Keith Walsh, Bill Walshe, Kieran Reade; Barry Walsh, James Waters, Anthony O Donnell; Subs- Dwane Fogarty for Barry Walsh; Mikey Loughman for O Hanlon; O Hanlon for Reade; Alan P Ryan for K Walsh; M J Walsh for O Donnell;

Ref- Philip Ryan, Knockavilla Kickhams.