Ballingarry get back to winning ways

Ballingarry edged past Carrick Swan 0-13 to 1-8 in the South Tipperary senior hurling championship at Monroe.

Ballingarry edged past Carrick Swan 0-13 to 1-8 in the South Tipperary senior hurling championship at Monroe.

The game brought together two sides who had been badly mauled in their first round matches. Both had gone down on exactly the same score-line 3-22 to 1-10, Carrick Swan to Killenaule and Ballingarry to Mullinahone C.J.K.

Both then were in need of a lift. A win would restore morale for perhaps a late run in the championship while another defeat would raise the spectre of finishing outside the top four. Ballybacon’s departure for pastures new has made the margin for error in the South championship much narrower.

Ballingarry possibly deserved their narrow win. They outscored their opponents by 13 scores to 9. They held Swan scoreless during the entire last quarter, a tribute to their defence. Their forwards well led by Liam Cahill and aided by Adrian Cleere looked far more likely to score. The Swan attack seemed too individualistic in their approach. Swan however had some fine defenders who were adept at hurling themselves out of trouble.

Darren Murphy impressed at corner back and the half back line of Russell, Lanigan and Johnny Grace also played well. Darren Fahey played well in midfield, but Danny O’Hanlon ploughed too much of a lone furrow up front.

With 40% of the games now played in the South championship (league section) many would regard next weeks games as decisive with Killenaule playing Mullinahone C.J.K. for top spot on Friday and the Carrick derby on Tuesday night to sort out the other end of the table. However, as hurling followers know “there is many a slip twixt cup and lip”.

Ballingarry - James Logue, Danny Fitzgerald, Dickie Norton, Dara Ivors, Ian Ivors, Tommy McGrath, Jack Fennelly, Gerry Fitzgerald, Adrian Cleere, Jer Fennelly, Eamon Cahill, Donal Shelly, Brian Cooney, Liam Cahill, Matthew Butler.

Carrick Swan - Tom Kennedy, Darren Murphy, James Watters, Jerry Walsh, Martin Russell, Kevin Lanigan, Johnny Grace, Bill Walsh, Darren Fahey, Philip Loughman, M.J. Walsh, Danny O’Hanlon, Paul Diffley, Alan P. Ryan, Dwayne Fogarty.

Referee: Noel Cosgrave (Marlfield)