LIT Tipperary hurlers win All-Ireland League final

Third Level Colleges Hurling

Third Level Colleges Hurling

LIT Tipperary 0–16

IT Tralee 0-9

There was great jubilation when LIT Tipperary hurlers beat a fancied IT Tralee side in the All-Ireland 3rd Level Colleges Division 2 League Final played in what can only be described as atrocious conditions on a very wet and windy night. This game was scheduled to take place in Martinstown, Co. Limerick but on arrival at the venue, both sets of teams and supporters were informed that the pitch was unplayable and after much speculation and telephone calling, it was decided to travel to Rathkeale to fulfil this fixture.

Limerick County Board should be acknowledged for their generosity in providing the pitch at such short notice despite the weather conditions and without this generosity, this fixture would have to be rescheduled to a date in 2013.

Looking at the elements and the condition of the field which seemed to be submerged in water, one would wonder how 60 minutes of hurling could take place but take place it did with a start time of 8.30 p.m.

LIT Tipp got off to a good start with 0-3 registered on the board through frees from Shane McGrath who skidded in and out through the defenders before IT Tralee registered any score. It was nip and tuck from the outset and at half time LIT Tipperary were ahead by two points on a score line of 0-8 to 0-6 despite IT Tralee having a strong wind in the first half and failing to take advantage of a penalty which was awarded to them late in the second quarter.

The third quarter was a tough battle with good scores coming from both sides and halfway through the second half LIT Tipp were in the driving seat with a lead of 5 points and while IT Tralee never gave up, LIT Tipp continued to dig in deep and when the final whistle blew, they had seven points to spare.

It was a very proud night for the management team of Brendan Maher (Manager/Trainer), Toby Kavanagh, Fr. Jimmy O’Donnell and Jimmy Sweeney (Selectors) and Wayne Fanning (Sports Officer).

Scorers for LIT Tipperary: Mark Gennery (0-2); Robert Bresnan (0-2); Tommy Doyle (0-1); Philip Ivors (0-4, 0-3 frees); Denis Maher (0-2); Shane McGrath (0-5, all frees);

LIT Tipperary: James Logue (Ballingarry), James McDonnell (Na Piarsaigh, Cork), Ian Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Brendan Egan (Padraig Pearses, Galway), Tom Ryan (Templederry Kenyons), Martin Fitzgerald (Ardclough, Kildare) Captain, Fergal Brennan (Cloneen/Railyard, Kilkenny), Shane McGrath (Feakle, Clare), Adam McCarthy (Cobh, Cork), Robert Bresnan (Mount Sion, Waterford), Mark Gennery (Portroe), Denis Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Simon Smith (Rosenalis, Laois), Philip Ivors (Ballingarry), Tommy Doyle (Thurles Sarsfields), TJ Garvey (Ballyhea, Cork), Kevin Smith (Thurles Sarsfields), Tom Dorney (Thurles Gaels), Jim Nelligan (Inniscara, Cork), Paul Fahy (Killimor, Galway), Tom McEvoy (Clonad, Laois), Kayne Kavanagh (Clough/Ballacolla, Laois), Rory Fleming (Lucan Sarsfields, Dublin), Eoin McMahon (Scariff, Clare), Brian Kearney (Banteer/Lyre, Cork), David Collins (Adare, Limerick), James Gleeson (Killenaule), Declan Bettett (Young Irelands, Kilkenny), David Cleary (Miltown Malbay, Clare), Darragh Fitzpatrick (Borris Kilcotton, Laois), Niall O’Sullivan (Moycarkey Borris).