14-man Arravale Rovers dump Moyle Rovers from County Championship

County SFC Round 2

County SFC Round 2

by Jeddy Walsh



ARRAVALE ROVERS overcame the disadvantage of playing with 14 men for almost the full hour to record a deserved win in the County Senior Football Championship at Cahir on Sunday morning last. The never-say-die attitude of the Tipperary Town boys saw them emerge victorious over Moyle Rovers whose ambitions of county success came to a disappointing end with this defeat.

Reduced to 14 men in the third minute with the straight red card dismissal of Andy Lacey after an incident with Daniel Lyne, and five points down eight minutes before the break, Arravale rallied to record what looked an unlikely win 22 minutes in.

Referee David Grogan made the big call in the third minute following consultation with his officials for an off-the-ball incident which saw Lacey sidelined. It left Arravale Rovers at a numerical disadvantage for the remainder of the game but with magnificent determination they were not found wanting and shaded the verdict in the end by a single point.

Arravale were very determined from start to finish and were well served by Gerard and Peter Mulhair, Shane and Donnagh Leahy, Paddy Dalton who went through the pain barrier to stay on the field, Roger O’Connor and Stephen Quinn.

For Moyle Rovers it’s the end of their senior year but none worked harder on Sunday than Ross Mulcahy, Philip Quirke, Brian Mulvihill, Peter Acheson, Richard Power and Aaron Kelly.

Arravale Rovers: Brian Glasheen, Gerard Mulhair, Robbie Kiely (1-0), Peter Mulhair, Paddy Dalton, Shane Leahy, Roger O’Connor, Damien Kiely, Donnagh Leahy, Darren Lowry, Michael O’Dwyer (0-1), James Hogan (0-4, 0-2F), Brian Lowry (0-1), Timmy Dalton (0-5, 0-3F), Andy Lacey.

Subs: Stephen Quinn for Damien Kiely; John Hayes for Peter Mulhair (injured): Sean O’Meara (0-1) for James Hogan.

Moyle Rovers: Ian Browne, Ronan Desmond, Richard Power, Aaron Kelly, Daniel Lyne, Peter Acheson, Ross Mulcahy, Martin Dunne, Alan Campbell, Philip Quirke (1-2), Brian Mulvihill (0-3), Sean Keating, Paul Shanahan, Jack Lonergan (0-1), Declan Browne (0-3, 0-2F).

Subs: Shane Foley for Martin Dunne (injured); David McGrath for Sean Keating; Paul Johnson for Shane Foley; Niall Fitzgerald for Jack Lonergan.

(Full match report in Wednesday’s issue of ‘The Nationalist’)