GAA stars past and present honoured at Maurice Davins Awards in Carrick-on-Suir

The award winners with GAA officials at the Maurice Davin Awards in Carrick-on-Suir.

Mental health awareness was the theme of the fourth annual Maurice Davin Awards that honoured GAA players past and present from counties Tipperary, Waterford and Kilkenny at the Carraig Hotel in Carrick-on-Suir last Saturday night. 

The awards ceremony that also recognises the contribution of members of four GAA clubs in Carrick-on-Suir and its hinterland, was attended be several hundred guests including All-Ireland medallists and senior GAA administrators from the three counties. 

Before the awards were presented Waterford GAA County Board Vice-Chairman Sean Michael O'Regan and Caroline Crawford of Kilkenny County Board addressed the guests and award recipients about mental health and well being.  

The Maurice Davin Awards Committee also decided to donate all profits from ticket sales to the awards night to Pieta House Suicide and Self-Harm Prevention Centre. 

Former Tipp FM GAA commentator Paddy Finucane was the Master of Ceremonies and the awards were presented by Paddy Doyle, brother of the late Tipperary hurling legend Jimmy Doyle, who carried out this role before he passed away in 2015. 

Tippeary's wing back Seamus Kennedy received the Tipperary Hurler of the Year award while Declan Fanning won the Tipperary Past Player gong. Samantha Lambert of the All-Ireland winning Tipperary Ladies Football team won the Ladies Football Player of the Year prize while Michael O'Meara of St Mary's GAA Club was presented with the Contribution to the GAA Award. 

Raymond Cooke was Carrick Davins Player of the Year and Nicky Butler won the Davins Club Player of the Past award. 

Carrick Swan GAA Club's Player of the Year award went to Stephen Hahessy and the Swan Player of the Past was Thomas Waters. 

Four-times All-Ireland medallist Colin Fennelly received the Kilkenny Hurler of the Year award while Pat Dwyer was presented with the Kilkenny Hurler of the Past prize. 

Piltown GAA Club's Hurler of the Year was Philly Doyle while Eamon Fitzpatrick was the Piltown Hurler of the Past award winner. Eamon Doyle of Carrickshock GAA Club was presented with the Kilkenny Contribution to the GAA award. 

Waterford Hurler of the Year award recipient was Jake Dillon while Paul Flynn won the Waterford Hurler of the Past award. 

 St Molleran's GAA Club stalwart Paddy Moore received the Waterford Contribution to the GAA award. 

Alan Walsh was St. Molleran's GAA Hurler of the Year and Tom Morrissey was the Club's Hurler of the Past winner. 

Read full report on the awards in this week’s edition of The Nationalist.