Community School house builders ready for Capetown

House-Builders Ready

House-Builders Ready

For the fifth year in a row, Cashel Community School is preparing these days to bid “God speed” to a student and teacher team of house builders set for South Africa.

This year’s team will fly from Dublin to Capetown on Saturday, November 12, after a formal school farewell and blessing ceremony on the previous day. The team this year is: Rachel Fahy (Cashel), Paddy Morrrissey (Cashel), Ereena Fryday (Knockavilla), Tom Mulcahy (Boherlahan), Roisin Trehy (Fethard), Mark O’Brien (New Inn/Knockraffon), and teachers Brendan Ryan and Tracy Gibson. They will be joined by Jonathan Grogan (Cashel) who missed out last year due to injury and by Paul Creed (Cashel) who represented the school in 2009. Among others from county Tipperary travelling this next week will be Nigel Hayes (Knockavilla) and Edel Cronin (Cashel) both past students of CCS.

The Niall Mellon Township Trust is part and parcel of Cashel Community School’s way of life. Niall himself visited the school on May 9 and spoke humbly yet inspiringly of the work of the Trust. It achievement, in housing thousands of Africa’s poorest families, has been made possible through the generosity of Irish volunteer builders and the generosity of all who contribute financially to their fundraising efforts. Once again, Cashel Community School expresses deep gratitude to any and all who continue to support the school’s annual fundraisers in order to make possible this mighty work that changes lives for the better.

Table Quiz

The first years and their sixth year Links enjoyed a Hallowe’en table quiz on the day of the mid-term holidays. The essence of the event was participation and fun but, of course, some friendly rivalry was noted! Top tables in each class group were: Rachel O’Keeffe, Iona Tegerdine, Leah Rice, Claire O’Donnell; John O’Connor, Orla Purcell, Thomas Mulcahy; Jack Burke, Alan O’Donnell, James Coffey; Dean Walsh, John Tadhg Murphy, Michael Carew Day, Mark O’Brien; Celine Walsh, Fiona Ryan, Lainey Cully; James Walsh, Brendan Walsh, Dylan Ryan Hannigan, Danielle Ryan, Jake Ryan; Colin Ryan, Conn Bonnar, Patrick Fahy, Robert Ryan, Aidan O’Connell; Jonathan Keating, Harry Costello, Aaron Doyle O’Donnell, Steve Farrell, Owen Dillon.

Munster Soccer league

The High School, Clonmel, were visitors at CCS on October 24 for a crucial game in the Munster senior soccer league. The pitch was in poor condition after heavy overnight rain. In an evenly contested and exciting first half both sides missed goal chances.

Shortly before the interval, Clonmel scored the first goal of the game but within minutes Brian Sheehy finish to the net a Craig Condon cross, to put the teams level, one each, at half-time. The second half was of a piece with the first: Clonmel stretched into a 2 – 1 lead but substitute Joe Butler came to the rescue for Cashel and slotted in an excellent goal. Two-all at the end.

Team: Gearoid Slattery, Niall Fitzgerald, Michael McDermott, Aidan O’Connell, Mark Shortt, Donal Reade, Dean Thompson, Craig Condon, Paddy Ryan, Brian Sheehy, Niall Anglim. Subs used: Michael Fox, Joey Butler. Scorers: Brian Sheehy and Joe Butler one goal each. This drawn result keeps alive the Community Schools’ prospects in the Munster League.

The first year soccer boys earned a hard fought victory over Scoil Ruain, Killenaule, whom they hosted in the opening match of the Munster Cup. The visitors took an early lead with the Killenaule centre forward finding the top corner of the Cashel goal and they held this 1- 0 lead at the break. The home side were a changed team in the second half though and Jack Burke equalised with an excellent free kick. With the wind at their backs, the CCS side piled on the pressure and got their reward when Burke again scored after good work from Alan O’Donnell and Ronan Quinn. Killenaule pressed hard to redeem the game but Cashel held out for three valuable league points.

Team: Luke Boyle, Brian Davern, Daniel Gallahue, James Walsh, Philip Fogarty, Ronan Quinn, Patrick Fahy, Alan O’Donnell, Conor Horan, James Ryan, Jack Burke, Padraig Hickey, Killian Hayde, Christopher Brabston, Dylan Gubbins. Scorer : Jack Burke (2).