History makers Loughmore dominate Annerville Awards

Eamonn Wynne


Eamonn Wynne

Clonmel rowers Ryan McKenna and Alex Chadfield, who won gold for Ireland in the Men's Junior Pairs at the Home International Championships in Nottingham.
Loughmore/Castleiney have been rewarded for an exceptional year in hurling and Gaelic football.

Loughmore/Castleiney have been rewarded for an exceptional year in hurling and Gaelic football.

The club has won three Annerville Awards after a year in which they completed a historic county senior hurling and football championship double.

Noel McGrath has won the hurling award, while the football accolade goes to his first cousin Liam McGrath.

Meanwhile the Sean Lyons Sports Executive Award has been won by the Loughmore hurling and football management team of Declan Laffan, Pat McGrath and Seamus Bohan.

And Loughmore has won another award, with Leaving Cert student Edel Nyland honoured for her achievements in hockey.

The awards, sponsored by Bulmers, are presented each year by the Tipperary United Sports Panel to the leading amateur sports stars in Tipperary.

The Sports Panel has selected stars in 17 sports, including the Special Achievement Award, Lifetime Achievement Award and the Knocknagow Award, which each year is presented to a Sportsperson of the Past.

The choice this year is Tony Wall of Thurles Sarsfields, who won five All-Ireland Senior hurling medals and was captain of Tipperary’s All-Ireland winning team in 1958.

The Lifetime Achievement Award goes to Chris Regan, who has been coaching schoolboy soccer players with Clonmel Town since the mid 1970s.

Clonmel teenager Andrew Duncan, who has won the Special Achievement Award, was one of Ireland’s most successful athletes at the World Transplant Games in South Africa.

The Rockwell College student won gold in tennis and squash, silver in badminton and bronze in table tennis.

St. Michael’s has won the junior soccer award after three of its players - James Walsh, Paul Breen and Christopher Higgins - played on the Irish team that won the international quadrangular tournament, beating Scotland, the Isle of Man and Northern Ireland.Outstanding Clonmel athlete Sean Tobin has also been honoured as have Tom McMahon and Dan Quinlan, who won gold medals in shooting at the World Police and Fire Games in Belfast.

Other winners include National Intermediate Superheavyweight boxing champion Dean Gardiner from Clonmel; and Aisling Hickey from Rossmore, the current Women’s European Singles racquetball champion. She was also on the Irish team that won the European Senior championships in Italy.

The awards will be presented at the United Sports Panel’s annual function at the Clonmel Park Hotel on Saturday, January 25.


Athletics - Sean Tobin, Clonmel

Boxing - Dean Gardiner, Clonmel

Cycling - Hugh Mulhearne, Carrick-on-Suir

Gaelic Football - Liam McGrath, Loughmore/Castleiney

Handball - Fergal Collins, Ballina

Hockey - Edel Nyland, Loughmore

Hurling - Noel McGrath, Loughmore/Castleiney

Kickboxing - Lisa Moloney, Kilross, Tipperary

Pitch and Putt - Tipperary Ladies Senior team

Racquetball - Aisling Hickey, Rossmore

Rowing - Alex Chadfield and Ryan McKenna, Clonmel

Soccer - St. Michael’s club

Sean Lyons Sports Executive Award - Loughmore hurling and Gaelic football management team

Shooting - Tom McMahon and Dan Quinlan, Clonmel

Special Achievement - Andrew Duncan, Clonmel

Lifetime Achievement - Chris Regan, Clonmel

Knocknagow - Tony Wall, Thurles Sarsfields