Pakistani student activist shot by Taliban wins Tipperary Peace Award

Pakistani student Malala Yousafzai has been announced as the recipient of the 2012 Tipperary International Peace Award.

Pakistani student Malala Yousafzai has been announced as the recipient of the 2012 Tipperary International Peace Award.

Tipperary Peace Convention said that they are recognising Malala’s courage, determination and perseverance, along with the impact she has had on so many across the world, with the award to her of the 2012 International Peace Prize.

A school student and education activist from the town of Mingora in Pakistan, Malala came to prominence for her education and women’s rights activism in the Swat Valley, where the Taliban had at times banned girls from attending school.

On October 9, 2012, Malala was shot in the head and neck in an assassination attempt by Taliban gunmen while returning home on a school bus. She miraculously survived the attempt and was subsequently airlifted to a hospital in Britain for treatment, where she continues to make good progress.

“Malala’s courage has proved to be an inspiration around the globe. The right to education is denied to 61 million children of primary school age around the world and the hopes of these children are represented by the courage, determination and by the voice of Malala Yousafzai. The Taliban tried and failed to silence her and have instead amplified her voice. Though only a child herself she has now become perhaps the world’s most admired children’s-rights advocate.

Her campaign to secure access to education for girls in certain regions in Pakistan has also served to highlight broader concerns such as the health and safety of the developing world’s children, women’s rights and the fight against extremism”.

Tipperary Peace Convention hopes that the awarding of the Peace Prize to Malala will encourage those in power to continue to speak out in support of her vision of equal access for every child in school so that each and every one of them can reach their full potential.

Tipperary Peace Convention is delighted therefore to announce Malala Yousafzai as the recipient of the 2012 Tipperary International Peace Award and the Award will be presented in Tipperary at a date to be announced in 2013.

Previous recipients of the Tipperary International Peace Award include former South African President Nelson Mandela, Live Aid Organiser Bob Geldof, former U.S. President Bill Clinton, former Prime Minister of Lebanon the late Rafic Hariri, Afghan Human Rights Activist Dr. Sima Samar, former Prime Minister of Pakistan the late Benazir Bhutto, US Ambassador Jean Kennedy Smith and her brother the late Ted Kennedy and former President of Ireland Professor Mary McAleese and her husband Senator Martin McAleese.