Positive AGM signals bright future for King Cormacs

The Cashel King Cormacs GAA Club held their annual general meeting with a good crowd in attendance on Saturday evening last.

The Cashel King Cormacs GAA Club held their annual general meeting with a good crowd in attendance on Saturday evening last.

The meeting took place for the first time at the clubhouse in Leahy Park and positive feedback suggests the venue was a most suitable one.

David Ryan, outgoing club treasurer, spoke of the healthy financial position of the club and said that the club could now move on positively and strive to improve, highlighting the continuous promotion of our very successful Club Lotto as vitally important. He thanked the outgoing John Cahill, to whom he owed so much, for his time and dedication throughout the year and all who helped raise money in any way giving up their time voluntarily.

Chairman, Pat Donoghue advised the meeting that the club was moving forward in the right direction and said that he would remain for his final year as chairman as he plans to step down at the end of this year. He thanked all outgoing officers, especially treasurer David Ryan and John Cahill whom worked tirelessly for the betterment of the club. Finally he paid a special tribute to the outgoing Ger Slattery whom after twenty years of committee service and a former club chairman, Pat said, "if there was ever a template for an outstanding clubman it was him".

The club secretary, Aiden Hynes, in his report told the members that their club was in safe and honest hands and that the commitment to have the right structures in place now would be borne out in the years to come as the club will strive for their common goal of success together. He outlined all playing activity for the season highlighting the success of our Senior Hurlers in the Crosco Cup as a huge step forward, backed up with the U.21's capturing the West B title and the success of the U.16 hurlers in the West final, the future is certainly bright.

Club Patron Fr Bernie Moloney provided a very positive contribution to the meeting with his address.

The highlight of the meeting was undoubtedly the awarding of Honorary Life Presidents to Peter O'Sullivan and Aengus Ryan for their outstanding service to the club over many years. Both proud clubmen were greeted with a standing ovation as they received the highest accolade in the club.

All officers were returned unchallenged this year. Pat Donoghue remains as Chairman, Aiden Hynes as Club Secretary but David Ryan has stepped down from the top table and is replaced by the very competent Michael Ryan as the new Club Treasurer. Along with David, Ger Slattery, Sean O'Donoghue, Timmy Moloney and John Cahill have stood down and are replaced by Paddy O'Sullivan, Michelle O'Leary, Pauric Murray and PJ Quinlan.

The only election required on the night was for intermediate football selectors and that sees a new management team of Tony O'Sullivan, Christopher Ryan and Pauric Murray now in place.

A special word of thanks was expressed to Denis Fitzgerald for his role and dedication in keeping football strong in the club for many years when hurling was at its strongest.

Of the motions that were tabled, all members should now note that membership closes on March 31 this year in line with Croke Park protocol. The meeting under any other business read out a letter of thanks from Will Ryan, national school principal at St John the Baptist, thanking the club for their financial backing and loyal commitment over the year which was greeted with rapturous applause by the members as too were the best wishes conveyed from the meeting to Ryan O'Dwyer on his departure from the club. He was wished every success from the meeting with his new club and county.

The club would like to thank all the outgoing officers for their service and welcome the new personnel for the year ahead.

All players should note that physical training will be starting in the next couple of weeks and all players from Minor to Senior level at both codes will be notified personally by their respective management teams.

Cashel King Cormacs Club Lotto in association with Cashel Camogie and Handball Clubs

The lotto draw on January 4 took place in Kearney Castle Hotel. The numbers drawn were 12,18,19,25. There was no winner of the €10,900 jackpot.

There was no winner of the second chance draw for €500, numbers drawn, 3,20,24,29.

Lucky Dip Winners – €50 John Ryan Gilly, €50 Mick Mackey, €20 Grace Moloney, €20 Cathal O'Leary, €20 Mickey Browne, €20 Michael Coleman and €20 Zack Forde.

The lotto draw held in Fox's Bar on January 11 was for a jackpot of €11,100, results in next weeks column. The next lotto draw will be held in Baileys on January 18, all very welcome from 9pm onwards.

All members please note that all new club gear, jerseys, togs, socks, hoodies and tracksuits in children and adult sizes for the coming season are now available to buy in O'Dwyer's Fashions, Friar Street.