Presentation awards recognise rounded and balanced education

Presentation Secondary School, Clonmel celebrated the 15th annual Presentation Awards for Excellence in St. Mary’s Church, Irishtown.

Presentation Secondary School, Clonmel celebrated the 15th annual Presentation Awards for Excellence in St. Mary’s Church, Irishtown.

The awards acknowledge the tremendous achievements of the girls across the whole spectrum of education in the school. They recognise that this pursuit of excellence is not confined to academic achievement but encompasses the whole range of activities that makes for a rounded and balanced education. The evening is a celebration of the achievements of the students over the past school year.

The school was delighted to have Ms Tomoco Matsumoto, First Secretary to the Japanese Embassy and Kieran Stafford, president of local conference of St. Vincent De Paul as special guests.

Fr. Billy Meehan, P.P.,St. Mary’s paid tribute to the Presentation community for its continued excellent role in educating young girls in Clonmel.

Michael O’Loughlin, principal said “Awards Day for all of us in Presentation Clonmel is one of the major highlights in the school calendar and I congratulate all the students who you see here today as they receive their certificates and awards. I say well done to you all, we are really proud of your achievements and wish you continued success in the years ahead, both in school and outside of it as well. The range of awards that will be presented reflects all aspects of school life and represents our mission of offering to our students a holistic Catholic education in a caring environment”.

He added “despite the economic climate, our school has helped to fundraise for a number of different organisations over recent years. I am delighted to welcome Ms.Tomoco Matsumoto, who is First Secretary to the Japanese Embassy and who will accept the donation on behalf of the Japanese Earthquake relief fund. Last year, one of our Fifth Year international students was from Japan and was with us when the earthquake/tsunami hit the country. For the Easter prayer service last year Yui Ishida, with help from her fellow Fifth Years, organised a fundraising event for those affected by the earthquake in Japan. In appreciation of that generosity Yui made a paper origami for the whole school population”.

Mr.O’Loughlin also welcomed Kieran Stafford, president of the local conference of St. Vincent De Paul to the ceremony. He stated that “St Vincent De Paul works closely with our school. It is tremendous that as a school today that we can give something back to the organisation”

Kathriona Murphy made presentations to over 115 girls for their involvement in extra-curricular activity. In presenting these certificates, the school recognised the outstanding achievements of the students in their chosen field of activity and is acknowledging the ambassadorial role of the students on behalf of the school.

Deputy principal Anne Dwyer presented the Junior Certificate Academic Award to Roisin Cleary, a past student of Rathkeevin NS Primary School who achieved 10 As in all Honours papers.

Principal Michael O’Loughlin presented the Leaving Cert Academic Awards to Lucy Purcell, a past student of the Gaelscoil Chluain Meala, who achieved 535 points in her Leaving Certificate. She is currently studying Business and Law in UCD.

Grace Murphy, a past student of the Sisters of Charity, was the winner of the Leaving Cert Applied Academic Award. A variety of assessment methods are used in Leaving Cert Applied and credits are gained for class work and attendance, 7 projects, interviews, oral language exams, work experience placement and final year practical and written exams. Grace worked very hard and consistently since starting their programme in September 2009 and is described by her teachers as an excellent student who showed great care for others as well.

Special Category Awards were presented in areas such as creativity, enterprise and initiative, leadership, sports awards, student peer awards, scientific endeavour and master chef, a new addition this year.

Anne Casey presented the Social Innovation Award was presented to Ms.Tomoco Matsumoto, First Secretary to the Japanese Embassy, who accepted it on behalf of Yui Ishida. Ms.Matsumoto and Kieran Stafford thanked the students for their donations and congratulated the school on its great awareness of social justice.

Presidents of the Student Council, Vivian Kenneally and Shauna Mulcahy presented a bouquet of flowers on behalf of the students to Sr. Colette, Tomoco Matsumoto, Vera Power and Mrs.Rogers.

Academic Awards: Junior Cert: Roisin Cleary.

Leaving Certificate: Lucy Purcell; Leaving Cert Applied: Grace Murphy.

Student of the Year: Chloe Doyle (First Year), Ellie Mackey (Second Year), Ruth O’Dwyer (Third Year), Mary Ann Lambert (Fifth Year) and Becky Nugent (Sixth Year).

Special Category Awards: Niamh Byrne (Creativity), TY class of 2010 (Enterprise and Initiative), Aileen Wall (Sports) Chisom Aghamelu, Rebecca Mullins, Aoife Cosgrave,Sarah Kearney, Ciara Power (Scientific Endeavour), Rebecca Whelan (Master Chef) and Yui Ishida (Social Awareness Award).

Student Peer Awards - First Year: Aimun Khan and Chloe O’Brien; Second Year: Ellie Mackey; Third Year: Tanya Crotty; Fifth Year: Mary-Anne Lambert and Sixth Year: Miriam Ryan.