CCS students impress in drama, horse riding and hurling

Drama Credit

Drama Credit

An award for acting was presented to a Cashel Commujity School student when a group from teh school participated in the Tipperary Schools Drama festival held in Holycross recently. The actors, drawn from T.Y., were Thomas Grogan, Aoife Clancy and Katie McDonnell. With them was Nell Trehy won an award for her acting.

The play staged by the group was “He Said and She Said” by Alice Gerstenberg. It is a comedy with the central theme of gossip, set during World War 1. The adjudicator praised the choice of play, the ability of the players to maintain their accents throughout the performance and the stage props.

Schools Hunter Trials

Ballinclough, Tramore, was the venue for the All-Ireland Interschool Hunter Trials 2012 held on the recent bank holiday. It was a lovely dry day, the track looked very well and was a galloping course. As usual, the knockables caused a good deal of problems but the track rode well and the competitions were mainly won on speed.

The CCS team comprised Amy Crosse, Aimee Butler, Abbey Guidy, Evan Dwan, Nadine Baskin and Robert Wade and they recorded excellent rounds in the team-of-three competition. Amy Crosse competed in the senior singles with a good clear round but again the time factor was very tight. In the junior singles, Aimee, Abbey, Evan, Robert and Nadine competed well. Some young animals got a great run and will surely progress to even better things in the future.

Well done to parents and students for taking part in their excellent competition.

Pipped by One Point

After two successful outings to their credit, the CCS U-15 hurlers headed to Sean Treacy Park, Tipp Town, to take on Hospital C.S. in the Munster quarter-final. Played in quite wintry conditions, the game was a very physical contest. The first half was scrappy and scores were in short supply for both sides. However, Hospital fared the better, netting two successive goals to lead at the interval by 2 – 1 to 0 – 3. During the second half Cashel showed great heart and determination to fight back to enter the final minutes two points ahead but their opponents notched a last minute goal to emerge winners by one point: 3 – 5 to 2 – 7.

Notable performances for CCS came from Craig O’Connell, Declan O’Dwyer and Owen Cleary. Throughout the year the entire panel have displayed commendable character and have advanced their hurling levels significantly

Team: Evan Dwan, Craig O’Connell, Evan Hayde, Nathan Ryan, Sean Butler, Padraig O’Carroll, Niall Manton, Aaron McCormack, Michael Ryan, Diarmuid Quinlan, Owen Cleary, Lee Barry, Colm Hayde, Declan O’Dwyer, Aaron Lawrence. Subs used: Conor Hickey, Ger Browne, Pat Muldoon.

Scorers: Owen Cleary 2 – 0, Padraig O’Carroll, Ger Browne, 0 – 2 each; Declan O’Dwyer, Diarmuid Quinlan, Conor Hickey, 0 – 1 each.

Rice Cup Blitz

A panel of 29 U-14 hurlers headed to Dr. Morris Park on Wednesday, March 14, for the opening salvo of the annual Rice Cup competition, played in a blitz format. Cashel Community School played Carrick-on-Suir C.B.S. in the opening game and this closely contested game ended all square. Ard Scoil Ris, Limerick, were the next opponents and they proved too strong for the Cashel boys. Cashel C.S. were pitted against Doon C.B.S. in the third game and controlled the play to emerge convincing winners. Cashel then tackled Clonmel C.B.S. in the final game and the team from the county capital took the honour here.

All CCS panellists got their turn to play during the day and performed with strong spirit. Special mention must be made the displays by Nathan Ryan, Colm Hayde, James Walsh, Robert Wade, Cian O’Connell, Lee Barry and Ger Browne. The outcome for the panel is that they now progress to compete in the Westcourt Cup, where they should give a good account of themselves.

Panel: Shane Dwan, Conor Hickey, Ger Browne, Cian O’Connell, Nathan Ryan, Lee Barry, Victor Bourke, Jimmy Cawley, Cathal D’Arcy, Ciarán Davern, Brandon Duffy, Paddy Fahy, Steve Farrell, Philip Fogarty, Dylan Gubbins, Killian Hayde, Jonathan Keating, Nikki Kearns, Daniel Lonergan, Ronan Quinn, Jack Price, Colin Ryan, James Ryan, Kevin Tobin, Jonathan Wade, Robert Wade, Conor Walsh, James Walsh.

Coffee Morning