Community School choose team for Niall Mellon challenge

Niall Mellon Team 2012

Niall Mellon Team 2012

The Community School’s house-building team for South Africa 2012 has been selected. It will be: Roisin Crowe (Knockavilla/Donaskeigh), Kate Fanning (Cashel/Rosegreen), Miriam Murphy (Boherlahan/Dualla), Cian Laffey (Cashel/Rosegreen), Conor Moore (Knockavilla/Donaskeigh), Cormac O’Donnell (Clerihan). They will be accompanied by two teachers: Ms. Caitriona Ryan and Mr. Michael Purcell.

Congratulations to the six students fortunate enough to be chosen at the end of a testing selection process. Indeed, all 29 fifth year students who made it through to the final stage are to be commended on their commitment to the project and on the strength of their performance at interview.

Thanks for Support

Many thanks are due to the Father Mathew Players (New Inn) for the staging their current drama at Cashel Community School last week, in aid the school’s commitment to the Niall Mellon Trust. A fine production of “Many Young Men of Twenty” was greatly enjoyed by an appreciative audience. Further thanks are extended to all who attended and supported the venture. A target of €E30,000 has to be raised this year.

Best Mini-Company

Congratulations to T.Y. mini-company B.B.P.R. Restoration and Repairs who became County Tipperary senior champions in the County Enterprise Board mini-company competition held in Clonmel Park Hotel on last Friday. The group consisted of Michael Prendergast, Brian Burke, Daniel Bowes and Philip Ryan.

Some months ago the group recognised that in these recessionary times there was a gap in the market for a business to restore old farm machinery that farmers may have lying around the place. Working in their own time – evenings, nights and weekends – the boys restored a tractor, trailer, transport box and a dog box. The restored tractor and trailer were driven by Michael to the competition centre and were on display for all to see. With 16 entries in the senior category, the creative and hard-working CCS quartet were thrilled to claim first prize for their efforts.

The group were assisted by Economics teacher Ms. Brid Gleeson and both she and they wish to thank Sue Anne O’Donnell, County Enterprise Board, for all her help. Next stop will be Croke Park, where the All-Ireland finals of the Enterprise Board competition will be held after Easter.

Cross Country Racing

The Community School sent a strong team of athletes to compete in the County Tipperary Schools cross country championships staged recently at the Thurles Crokes complex. Under the tutoring of Ms. O’Donnell and Ms. Rice, the team did themselves proud.

Individual results: senior boys – 2nd , Philip Falvey; 3rd Brian Hand. Intermediate boys - 2nd, Fionn Hogan. Minor boys – 2nd, Briain Davern.

Team results: minor boys – 2nd place : Briain Davern, John Purdue, Paddy Fahy, Ronan Quinn, Killian Hayde; junior boys – 1st place : Pat Muldoon, Diarmuid Quinlan, Michael Moloney, Ger Browne, Dylan Gubbins; intermediate boys – 1st place: Fionn Hogan, Eoin Hand, Declan O’Dwyer, Michael Ryan; senior boys – 1st place : Philip Falvey, Brian Hand, Daniel Hayde, Niall Anglim. The boys won the plaque for overall performance. Well done!

Minor girls – 2nd place : Aoife Gahan, Rachel O’Keeffe, Leah Price, Niamh Ryan. Other participants were: Hannah McSweeney, Lisa Currivan, Abbey Guiry, Bethany Entwistle, Louise Ryan, Johanna Murray, Nicole McGrath.

U15 Hurlers Advance

The U15 hurlers claimed a big scalp at Boher on last Thursday when, by the narrowest of margins, they overcame Castletroy College in the second round of the Munster championship, winning 0 – 10 to 0 – 9. A very physical Castletroy team started well and were two points up after just a few minutes. Eventually Cashel played themselves into the game with some superb shooting from midfielder Michael Ryan. Against a very strong wind the CCS backs kept their team mates in the game, with Evan Hayde, Craig O’Connell and Padraig O’Carroll outstanding. Half-time: Castletroy 0 – 6, Cashel 0 – 4.

In the second half Cashel took over completely at midfield and levelled the game at 0 – 7 each. With fifteen minutes to go CCS took the lead thanks to two points from O’Carroll and Ryan. At the end, the Limerick school had a free to level it but the shot went wide. Cashel’s win was due to an overall great team performance wherein Evan Dwan, Evan Hayde, Padraig O’Carroll, Niall Manton, Lee Barry and the dashing Michael Ryan excelled.

Team: Evan Dwan, Craig O’Connell, Evan Hahde, Nathan Ryan, Sean Butler, Padraig O’Carroll, Niall Manton, Michael Ryan, Aaron McCormack, Lee Barry, Owen Cleary, Pat Muldoon, Colm Hayde, Declan O’Dwyer, Ger Browne. Subs used: Conor Hickey, Aiden Carroll, Diarmuid Quinlan. Scorers: M. Ryan 0 – 8, P. O’Carroll 0 – 2.

Parents Association

It’s that time of year again when the CCS Parents Association run their annual Grand National Sweepstake Draw. All proceeds from the draw are in aid of the book rental scheme. Each year the parents association provide a great service by managing a school book rental scheme. The principal source of income from this service is the annual draw run on the Aintree Grand National. All parents benefit greatly from the book scheme. You support is greatly appreciated.

Draw will take place in the Community School on Friday, April 13. Draw for an iPod Touch for all full cards (kindly sponsored by Joe Ahearne, Rock House)