Fogarty helps himself to hat-trick as St. Michael’s rout Moyglass




St. Michael’s FC qualified for the final of the Clonmel Credit Union-sponsored Tipperary Challenge Cup after blowing away Moyglass United in a one-sided semi-final played in Cooke Park, Tipp town last Wednesday night.

Newly-crowned Munster Junior champions St. Michael’s proved too strong for 1st Division Moyglass United in a low-key affair. Saints, who rested some of their key players, were still the dominant force, getting the breakthrough on 7 minutes when a reverse pass from Sean O’Halloran set up Padraic Fogarty, who rounded the ‘keeper before scoring. Moyglass, hit by injuries and suspensions, saw Andrew Yates produce a diving save from Derek Breen, but after 22 minutes Saints doubled their lead when a Caelian O’Gorman centre was volleyed home by Chris Higgins.

It looked like Moyglass might make a fight of it when Stephen Harrington, with a terrific strike, pulled a goal back after 25 minutes, but the loss of George Webster through injury shortly afterwards proved a body-blow to the 1st Division side. St. Michael’s made this tie safe five minutes before the break when Padraic Fogarty added his second, getting on the end of a low cross by Chris Higgins.

After the changeover St. Michael’s continued to create the better opportunities and it came as no surprise when Chris Higgins forced a rebound over the line after Moyglass net-minder Michael Griffin produced a top-class reflex save, pushing Shane Guerin’s point-blank header onto the underside of the crossbar after 50 minutes. Moyglass, who were living off scraps, should have pulled a goal back when Brian Murphy was through but he dragged his shot wide. After 65 minutes Saints made it 5-1 when substitute Richie Ryan set up Shane Guerin. Richie Ryan got on the scoresheet after 74 minutes when turning a Sean O’Halloran pass home. With five minutes remaining St. Michael’s scored their seventh when Padraic Fogarty completed his hat-trick, once again keeping his cool to round the ‘keeper.

St. Michael’s will face holders Clonmel Celtic in the final on a date and and at a venue yet to be decided.

St. Michael’s FC: D. Breen, P. Tobin, C. Higgins, J. Walsh, J. Power, R. McMahon, P. Fogarty, T. Fahey, S. O’Halloran, S. Guerin, C. O’Gorman Subs: R. Ryan, P. Quinn, J. Carr.

Moyglass United: M. Griffin, M. Hickey, D. Fahey, M. Lacey, J. Lacey, G. Webster, B. Murphy, A. Yeates, S. Harrington, W. O’Brien Subs: D. Ryan, M Kelly, F. Lacey.