There were over 200 people present at the Firgrove Hotel on Friday night for Mitchelstown GAA Victory Social. In 2010 the local Junior A footballers won both the Division 1 FL and North Cork championship titles. The Junior footballers were unlucky to lose out in the Co semifinal after a replay.

Garry Coleman Chairman was MC for the occasion. He welcomed the guests which included Club Vice President Canon Tim O’Leary, Chairman Co Board Jerry O’Sullivan and North Cork Bord Chairman Christy Morrissey. Mr Coleman also welcomed the 1960 Mitchelstown Minors who were Co champions and the 1961 who won the Co JAFC title all of 50 years ago.

Christy Morrissey Divisonal Chairman spoke of the great work being done by the Mitchelstown club in the promotion of football in the Division. Looking back to last year ye were the best team in the Division and were unlucky not to claim Co honours. He said winning is a learning process. He paid tribute to the club Officers and Board delegate John Courtney for his great dedication. He also paid tribute to paddy Ryan Ballygiblin-Mitchelstown who is involved with the Board for the past 30 years. Canon Tim O’Leary said it was a great privilege to be present for this special occasion.

The GAA is one of the greatest institutions in the country and it was founded at a time when the was not much for the youth. He spoke of the great facilities at Croke Park and it is a great credit to all concerned. He spoke of the achievement of the many young players from Ballygiblin and Mitchelstown and it was nice to honour the winning sides of 1960 and 1961. Jerry O’Sullivan Chairman Co Board in his address spoke of the GAA as being a tremendous organisation for both the young and the old. He congratulated Mitchelstown on winning the Divisonal League and championship in 2010. He spoke of the great football tradition in Mitchelstown and was confident that Co honours would come very soon. It is great to see players playing both codes and the great thing about the GAA is that there is always next year.

Colm Courtney captain of the Junior side paid tribute to all involved in making 2010 such a successful year. The captain of the 1960 Mitchelstown Minor football team that won the County title Michael O’Brien spoke of the great achievement. It was September 9, in Fermoy, in 1960. He remembered the parade that day when our boys

looked magnificient. Michael went on to win a Sigerson Cup medal with UCD in 1961 and 50 years later in 2011 Shane Beston was on the UCC Sigerson side that brought the next medal to the Town club.

Noel Curley Captain of the 1961 Junior side that won Co honours spoke of the achievement. Town had lost a number of finals and at the time there were a lot of players on the Avondhu side that also lost two Co SFC finals. John McGrath he stated went on to captain the Mitchelstown side to Co IFC success in 1965.

Jimmy Skinner current club Vice President who was a selector on the Minor team of 1960 and a member of the panel of 1961 Junior side spoke and stated how glad he was to be around at this time. The club in Mitchelstown means everything to me he stated. He grew up in the town and played with the team. He concluded it is a great honour to be the club Vice President and he was delighted that the players of the past were honoured. Jack Clancy Retired NT Ballygiblin was the final speaker. He stated a lot of history had been spoken.


The death occurred on March 23 at Mallow General Hospital of Alice Connolly, (nee Leahy) Kildrum, Mitchelstown. Alice was well known in the Kildrum area, she was predeceased by her late husband John. There was a large attendance at the removal on Friday night from O’Brien’s Funeral Home, Mitchelstown, to the Parish Church and also at the Requiem Mass and burial on Saturday. Interment took place to Brigown New Cemetery. To her sons John Billy, Noel, Jimmy, daughters in law, brother in law Maurice, grand children, great grandchildren, nephews, nieces, relatives, neighbours and friends we tender our sincere sympathy.


The death occurred on March 24 of Catherine Roche (Nee McCarthy) at Corpus Christi Nursing Home. Kate was predeceased by her late husband Liam. Prior to moving to the Nursing Home she resided with her family at Ballinatona, Kilbehenny, Mitchelstown, where she was a very popular member of the farming community. There was a very large attendance at the removal on Saturday evening from O’Sullivan’s Funeral Home to Kilbehenny Church and also at the Requiem mass and burial on Sunday. Interment took place to the Church Grounds. To her daughter Hannah, sons Larry, John, Willie, Mike, grandchildren, daughters in law, son in law, brother in law, relatives, neighbours and friends we tender our sincere sympathy.


The death occurred on March 27 of Dan O’Donoghue, Hazel Hall Nursing, Clane, Co Kildare. The late Dan was employed at Mitchelstown Creameries up to his retirement. He lived at the family home in Glenatlucky, Mitchelstown, along with his late wife Ellen. In recent years he moved to Dublin with his family. His popularity was borne out in the large attendance at the removal from O’Brien’s Funeral Home Mitchelstown on Tuesday evening to the Parish Church and also at the Requiem Mass and burial on Wednesday. Interment took place to Brigown New Cemetery. To his son Jim, daughters Lianne, Miriam, sons in law Tom, Eric and Donal, daughter in law Sile, grand children, Lilian, Mary, Lucy, Sarah, Darragh, relatives, neighbours and friends we tender our sincere sympathy.


The numbers drawn were 9, 25 & 26. There was no winner of the jackpot of E400. Two lucky dip winners received E30 each as follows – The Cleary family, Cullane, Ballylanders c/o Ann Cleary. Anne Fox, Cullane c/o Mairead Lonergan.

E20 each to Elaine Barry Glanworth c/o Mairead Lonergan and William Coughlan Labbamallogga c/o Bridie Walsh.


The numbers drawn were 9, 10 & 23. There was no jackpot winner. Three lucky dip winners of E50 each as follows – Mike Cotter, Ballynoulty, Kildorrery, Hannah Dunne, Graigue, Kildorrery, Denise & Sophia, Funcheon Bar.


Francie Fitzgerald Ballylanders and Mossie Moriarty Kilglass, Mossie Hanley Anglesboro and Ann Coughlan, Ballindangan, Michael Kearney Marshalstown and Anthony Hanrahan Turbeigh, Table prizes – Tom Hogan and Jim Cotter, Anglesboro, Larry and Jim English Cullane, Fanahan O’Brien Galbally and John Sweeney Knockanevin, Raffle Paschal Noonan, Ardpatrick, Mary Hyland Mitchelstown, Tom Hogan Anglesboro.


Bridget Fitzgerald Kilgarriff and Diarmuid Coffey Gortroe, Ann Cleary Cullane and Geraldine Noonan, Ballylanders. Table prizes – Nora and Andrew Connolly, Knockadea, Fanahan O’Brien Galbally and John Sweeney, Knockanevin, John Lyons Glenroe and Dave Farrell, Mitchelstown, Raffle Nora Connolly, Knockadea, Dave O’Farrell, Mitchelstown, John Lyons Glenroe.