Powerstown Lisronagh



Winners of the Progressive 25 held at Rathkeevin Hall on Thursday, February 16.

Winners on 11 games; Sean Spillane and Nuala Hogan.

Sharing 2nd and 3rd. on 10 games: Jim Whelan and Michael Prendergast; Mick Keane and John Buckley.

Table Prizes

On the 19 the game: Jim and Mary Garrett.

On the 20th game: Willie Heffernan and Phyllis Murphy.

Progressive 25 again on Thursday, February 23, at 8.30 pm (sharp)


Results of the game on February 13 are as follows: 34 players, 1st. on 13 games Nora O Donnell and Jimmy Murray, 2nd. on 9 games divided, John Lynch and Geoff Croke, Kathleen Hallinan and Peggy O Connell, and Jim and Mary Garrett. Table Prise Jim Phelan and Eddie Grant. Game every Tuesday night at 8.30pm, all welcome.


Lisronagh N.S. will host an Open Day on Saturday, February 25, at 11am. Prospective parents and children for September 2012 are invited to come along and view our modern facilities and meet the staff.


Trocaire boxes will be distributed to the homes by the envelope distributors. Please place your Trocaire box in a prominent place in your home to remind yourself of the needed of the world. We all can contribute to alleviating the poverty of the world by our contributions.


Congratulations to Malcolm and Natasha O’Connor whose child Erin Mary was baptised in Powerstown on Saturday last.


We extend our sympathy to the Channon family on the death of their mother Mary Channon.

We extend our sympathy also to O’Donnell family, Ballypatrick on the death of Monica O’Donnell.



Fixture - Sunday, February 26, Moyle Rovers V Ardfinnan in Clonmel Sportsfield at 3pm

Results - In what was a very busy Sunday, we are still only in February with load of games to attend.

First up was Division 1 Football League V Aherlow who despite some great passages of football, they were still defeated on a scoreline of 3-10 to 0-5.

Next up was the Premier Division Football League they took on Killenaule. Again with the same outcome as the first they were defeated.

Our U14 took on Killenaule in the South Feile Peil semi Final. It was a great game of football with the final score Killenaule 0-4 Moyle Rovers0-4 but all the praise must go to our super goalie James Brennan pulling off some spectacular saves on the day.

Training times -

U6 are back training on Saturday morning from 10am to 11am.

U8 Football Training on Tuesday night indoor from 7pm to 8pm

U8 Hurling Training on Friday nights indoor from 6.30pm to 7.30pm

U10 Training on Friday nights indoor from 7.30pm to 8.30pm

U12 Training on Monday night outdoor at 6.45pm

U12 Training on Friday nights indoor from 8.30pm to 9.30pm

U14 Training on Tuesday & Friday nights outdoor from 7pm to 8pm

U16 Training on Wednesday nights outdoors at 7.15pm

U16 Training on Sunday morning outdoors at 11am

Membership - Membership is now due. Form can be found on the website if you have not already received one. All membership must be returned as soon as possible

Did you know?

Did you know that the Moyle Rovers club reached the South Senior Football Final in 1933. They were defeated by Kilsheelan in Fethard by 1-3 to 0-1, the scores having been level at half time at 0-1 to 0-1. Kilsheelan went on to win the County Title. Dick Lonergan and Ned Murphy played Junior Football for Tipperary in 1933. Moyle Rovers remained in the Senior ranks until 1941 but did not participate in the Championship in 1935. In that year the strict parish rule was introduced and the Moyle Rovers club took a stand having objected to it by not entering a team in the championship. Even though the Moyle Rovers had no team. Dick Lonergan was a prominent member of the Tipperary Senior Football team which won the Munster Senior Football Championship and were unluckily beaten by the eventual winners Cavan in the All Ireland Semi Final by two points. The only other success at that time was on 1938 when they won the Keating cup and medals in a tournament played by all Senior Clubs. No team was entered in the Championship in 1942. A Junior team was affiliated in 1943. No team entered in 1944 or 1945. In 1946 a junior team was affiliated. In 1947 and 1948 there again was no team affiliated. In 1945, 50, 51 and 52 a Junior team from Lisronagh was affiliated. In 1953 and 1954 a Junior team from Powerstown/Lisronagh was affiliated. In 1955 no team from the parish was affiliated.


The Draw took place on Sunday 12th Feb, the Jackpot was not won, the winners on the night were, Denise Murray €50 David Blisset, Betty Colins David Lonergan €20


A special mass will be celebrated on Saturday next in Powerstown at 3.00pm for Gwen Noonan, the organist in Powerstown who died in England.