Top students and retiring teachers honoured at Tipp VEC awards ceremony

St. Ailbes School, Tipperary Town - Back,  Cllr. John Crosse (ETB Member); John Blackburn (Deputy Principal); Darragh McGrath,  Peter Creedon (Principal); Tommie Childs, Gerard Barlow, Cllr. Mary Hanna Hourigan (ETB Member). Front,  Cllr. Jimmy OBrien (Chairman, South Tipperary County Council); Cllr. Anna Tuohy Halligan (Mayor of Tipperary Town);  Fionuala McGeever (Chief Executive Officer, Tipperary ETB); Cllr. William Kennedy (Chairman, Tipperary ETB).Missing from Photograph: Lauren Martin
On July 1 Tipperary Education and Training Board was formed following the amalgamation of North Tipperary and South Tipperary VECs.

On July 1 Tipperary Education and Training Board was formed following the amalgamation of North Tipperary and South Tipperary VECs.

Tipperary Education and Training Board hosted the annual awards ceremony in Hotel Minella, Clonmel for students who attended the 6 post primary schools and Youthreach centre of South Tipperary VEC and for retiring staff who were employed in South Tipperary VEC schools.

This awards ceremony is held annually to acknowledge the wonderful achievements of their students and pays tribute to their recently retired staff for their dedicated service to teaching.

Students honoured were -

Coláiste Chluain Meala, Thomas Roche, Best Leaving Certificate Award; Paige D’Arcy, Best Leaving Certificate Applied Award;Personal Achievement Award went to Kieran Houlihan, Dale Greene collected the Sports Award for his achievements in the field of Sport.

Coláiste Dún Iascaigh, Cahir - Laura Ryan, Best Leaving Certificate Award; QingQing Chen, Personal Achievement Award for overcoming the language barrier since moving to Ireland from China; Gerry Cronin, Sports Award.

Scoil Ruain, Killenaule - Teresa Dunne, Best Leaving Certificate Award; Kerrie Lawlor, Best Leaving Certificate Applied Award; Elaine Browne, Personal Achievement award and Jack Shelly, Sports Award.

St. Ailbe’s School, Tipperary Town - Gerard Barlow, Best Leaving Certificate; Darragh McGrath, Personal Achievement award for his contributions to the School; Tommie Childs, Sports Award; Lauren Martin, Best Leaving Certificate Applied award but was unable to attend on the night.

Comeragh College, Carrick-on-Suir - Aidan Nugent, Best Leaving Certificate; James Nugent, Personal Achievement award; the sports award went to Jack Doherty, but as Jack was in England playing soccer with Ipswich Town, his sister Karen collected the award on his behalf.

Gaelcholáiste Chéitinn Clonmel - Seán Ó h-Aitheasa received two awards, Best Leaving Certificate which he completed through the median of Irish and the second being the Sports award for his achievements in cycling. Ros Breathnach received the personal achievement award for being an excellent student during his time in the Gaelcholáiste.

Youthreach Centre Cappawhite - Russell Bowes, Best Leaving Certificate Applied Award; and Alan O’Dwyer, Personal Achievement award which was in recognition of his contribution to the Youthreach centre.

Presentations were also made to retiring 
staff members -

Ms. Brid Collins, retiring Home Economics teacher from St. Ailbes, Tipperary after 37 years’ service. During her career in St. Ailbe’s, Brid saw and presided over many educational changes and witnessed the introduction of many new and innovative programmes such as Pre-Employment, Hotel Catering, Transition Year, Senior Certificate, Leaving Certificate Applied, and Nursing Studies. She accepted the many challenges these programmes posed and 
always responded with enthusiasm and delivered well designed and 
interesting courses.

Ms. Kaye Gallagher is the first of the Special Needs Assistants to retire from the Scheme. Kaye always took her role very seriously but was able to temper it with a motherly attitude which was what many students really needed.

Mr. Pat Callanan, one of the longest serving Principals in the country retired in January 2013 after being in the teaching profession for 39 years. Pat was a rural science teacher, the science laboratory’s loss was to prove a huge gain to the overall school as Pat assumed huge responsibility at a very young age. Pat was appointed Principal of Carrick-On-Suir Vocational School, after only 6 years of teaching. He took that responsibility very seriously from the outset and successfully led the development and growth of the school which now boasts a student population in 
excess of 300.

Mr. Joe Flynn, retiring resource teacher from Coláiste Chluain Meala was presented with a piece of crystal in appreciation of his 32 years service to South Tipperary VEC. Joe always kept abreast of the latest teaching methodologies and materials. He believed in the importance of organisation, clarity and discipline as a means of promoting self-confidence and independent learning in weaker students.

Mr. John Condon, retiring teacher from Coláiste Chluain Meala who taught Metalwork, Drawing, Mathematics and in later years, I.T. gave 38 years to the teaching profession. John was a good teacher, prepared his classes meticulously and worked hard. He never talked down to his students, and he helped them to develop self-reliance by encouraging them to think their way through problems.

Mr. Mathúin O’Caoimh, retiring administrator and Muinteoir I bhFeighil of Gaelcholáiste Cheítinn for the past ten years, leaves his position after giving 43 years teaching service to South Tipperary VEC. Mathúin was a gifted teacher, endowed with a multitude of gifts and a passionate love for our Irish language and culture, a talented musician and singer, a great actor, an entertainer, a conversationalist of great intellect and vision, ever willing to discuss, debate, discourse.

Also retiring but unable to be present on the night were Joan Kelly (Retired Deputy Teacher, Scoil Ruain, Killenaule) and Helen Fitzgibbon (Coláiste Chluain Meala, Clonmel).